Fort Collins DWAI Defense AttorneyRequest Free Consultation
DWAI charges can rock your entire world. If you’re facing a DWAI charge in Fort Collins or the surrounding areas, you need the help of an experienced DWAI defense lawyer who understands Colorado laws. The criminal defense attorneys at Martin & Reed, LLC, have that experience, and our law firm is here to help you develop the strongest defense and protect your driving privileges. Schedule your free consultation now by calling (970) 573-5187 or completing our contact form.
What Is a DWAI?
A DWAI is similar to a DUI, but it is not the same thing. DUI is an acronym that means “driving under the influence.” A DWAI means “driving while ability impaired.” DWAI means that someone is operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of more than 0.05% but it is less than 0.08%. DWAI, when it is a first-time offense, it is a misdemeanor. As a first-time offense, you will not automatically lose your license if it is the only thing you are charged with. However, there are other penalties that you’ll learn about in this article.
Is DWAI Different from DUI in Fort Collins?
A DWAI is different from a DUI in Colorado. A DWAI is a drunk driving charge, but it is less serious. DWAI is charged when the person charged has a BAC of higher than 0.05% but less than 0.08%. If you’re convicted of a DWAI, it remains on your record for ten years even when you fulfill all of your requirements. So, if you apply for a job that requires a clean driving record, a DWAI will remain on your driving record. Contact Martin & Reed, LLC, to consult with a Fort Collins DWAI defense attorney about if your charges can be reduced or dropped entirely.
What Are the Penalties of a Fort Collins DWAI?
While a first-time DWAI does not take away your driver’s license like a DUI, there are plenty of penalties that you’ll deal with.
- It’s still a drunk driving charge and remains on your record for a decade. So, your insurance rate will go up and it could hurt your chances of getting certain types of jobs.
- A first offense includes 2 to 180 days in jail, a fine between $200 and $500, community service of 24 and 48 hours, and eight points on your driving record.
- A second offense includes a mandatory 10 days in jail, with up to one year in jail, a fine between $600 and $1,500, community service between 48 and 120 hours, license revocation of one year, and eight points on your driving record.
- A third offense includes 60 mandatory days in jail, with up to one year in jail, a fine between $600 and $1,500, community service between 48 and 120 hours, license revocation of two years, and eight points on your driving record.
- After three or more prior convictions of DWAI, it becomes a class 4 felony. If you are convicted, you face two to six years in state prison, a fine between $2,000 and $500,000, three years of mandatory parole, and a two-year license suspension.
One or multiple of these penalties may be on the table in your case. Contact our law firm to discuss your defense strategy with an experienced Fort Collins and Greeley DWAI defense attorney.
Fighting a DWAI in Fort Collins? Martin & Reed, LLC, is on Your Side
If you’re charged with a DWAI, Martin & Reed, LLC, is here to help you. You need an experienced Fort Collins DWAI lawyer on your side to help protect your driving record. Call now to schedule your free consultation with one of our skilled criminal defense attorneys.