Fort Collins Underage DUI Defense AttorneyRequest Free Consultation
Colorado’s teen drinking and driving laws are stricter than other states which means that even with a BAC as low as 0.02%, the driver will be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, punishable by suspension of their license for three months to a year.
If your child is charged with underage DUI, also referred to as “baby DUI,” schedule a free consultation with a Fort Collins underage defense attorney at Martin & Reed, LLC, by calling (970) 573-5187 or completing our contact form. One of our highly knowledgeable Fort Collins underage DUI defense lawyers will review the facts of the case and see how we can help you and your family.
What Happens If a Minor Gets a DUI in Fort Collins?
In Fort Collins and the surrounding areas, drinking and driving while under the age of 21 can land minors with one of three charges:
- Underage drinking and driving if they have a blood alcohol content of between 0.02% and 0.05%
- DWAI if they have a BAC of more than 0.05% to less than 0.08%
- DUI for a BAC of 0.08% or greater
How Is an Underage DUI Different from a Regular DUI?
The legal BAC limit for adults is 0.05%. If you are under 21 years of age, the threshold is lower. This lower threshold may carry a severe penalty, depending on the circumstances. The consequences of underage DUIs can be more serious than a regular DUI.
As well as standard traffic violation penalties, people convicted of underage DUIs are subjected to a minimum of three months’ license suspension. For consequent convictions, the suspension time increases. They will also be required to complete 24 hours of community service as well as an alcohol assessment and treatment at their own expense. However, a Fort Collins underage DUI defense lawyer may be able to lessen the charge or have it dropped altogether. Consult with one of our skilled DUI defense attorneys to learn more about your options.
Can a Parent or Party Host Get in Legal Trouble for an Underage DUI in Fort Collins?
In order to reduce underage intoxication, the city of Fort Collins has taken steps to establish penalties for social hosts of minors. If a minor is over the legal limit for alcohol, parents can be held liable. A parent or party host could also face trouble for giving the minor alcohol. Colorado’s social host laws mean that a parent or host may face a Class 1 misdemeanor depending on the facts of the case.
If you’re a parent, guardian, or host who was charged in an underage DUI case, call Martin & Reed, LLC, to schedule your free consultation with a Fort Collins underage DUI defense attorney.
What Happens if a Minor’s BAC Was Over 0.05% in Fort Collins?
In Fort Collins, if a minor’s blood alcohol level is over 0.05%, they are likely to be treated in the same way as an adult charged with a DUI. Being prosecuted as an adult means the minor could face penalties such as:
- 2 to 180 days in jail
- $200 to $500 in fines
- 24 to 48 hours of community service
- 8 DMV points
So, it’s essential you hire a criminal defense lawyer in Fort Collins who knows how to handle underage DUI defense.
Get Help for Underage DUI Charge in Fort Collins
Many people are unaware of the consequences that can arise from an underage drinking charge. If your child is charged with this crime, the prosecutor has many ways to pursue justice.
That’s why it’s so important to hire a good Fort Collins DUI defense lawyer to help. If your child is facing underage DUI charges in Fort Collins, Colorado, contact Martin & Reed, LLC. Our team of seasoned defense attorneys has a reputation for providing professional legal advice and representation. Schedule your free consultation today.