Greeley Assault Defense AttorneyRequest Free Consultation
An assault in Greeley, Colorado, or the surrounding area, may not seem serious. Yet, depending on the allegations, an assault charge can become very serious. Whether you were charged with a misdemeanor or felony, if you’re convicted of assault, it can affect the rest of your life and becomes part of your record. So, what can you do? Contact Martin & Reed, LLC, to discuss the facts of your case with a knowledgeable Greeley assault defense lawyer. We offer free consultations. Schedule an evaluation by calling (970) 573-5187 or completing our contact form.
Greeley Assault Defense Resources
- What is Considered Assault in Colorado
- Crimes of Violence in Colorado
- Charges Associated with Assault
- Preparing a Greeley Assault Defense
- Consequences of an Assault Conviction
- What Does a Plea Bargain Mean in Assault Cases
- Understanding Presumption of Innocence
- Contact a Greeley Assault Defense Lawyer
What Is Considered Assault in Colorado?
Under Colorado law, assault is defined as an unlawful injury to one person by another person. Assault can be filed as a misdemeanor or felony. Misdemeanor assault is known as third-degree assault. It is a negligent injury of another party involving the use of a deadly weapon. This is a class 1 misdemeanor. It involves up to two years in jail and it may also include fines.
Felony assault charges are known as second-degree and first-degree assault. Second-degree involves someone who intentionally or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person using a deadly weapon or purposefully causes physical harm to people engaged in certain lawful duties. It is a class 3, 4, or 6 felony, depending on what occurred. The class of felony impacts the potential jail time and fine.
First-degree assault is the most serious. First-degree assault happens when someone intentionally causes serious injury to another person by using a deadly weapon. It is a class 3 felony. The punishment is between 10 and 32 years in prison and a fine between $3,000 and $75,000.
Crimes of Violence in Colorado
Assault is a violent crime. The state of Colorado specifies that some types of crimes are classified as crimes of violence, including assault. The classification designation means a conviction comes with mandatory sentencing and stiff penalties of up to 32 years in prison for a first-degree assault conviction.
The factors Colorado considers when charging someone include:
- If there was a deadly weapon involved
- Whether the person being charged acted intentionally, recklessly, or negligently
- Whether the victim suffered injury or serious bodily injury
- Whether the victim was an on-duty law enforcement officer, firefighter, or other on-duty officials
Do not place your future at stake over an assault charge. Schedule a free consultation to discuss your case with a Greeley assault defense attorney at Martin & Reed, LLC.
Are There Other Charges Associated with Assault in Greeley?
Yes, there are other charges that can affect the initial charge along with potential consequences in Colorado. Not every assault charge includes additional charges, however, it’s important to recognize the possibility.
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assaulting a police officer
- Assaulting a protected state employee
- Assaulting a federal employee
- Aggravated assault
- Municipal assault
- Domestic Violence
It is crucial to protect your freedom and future. Contact Martin & Reed, LLC, now to discuss your defense options with an experienced Greeley criminal defense lawyer.
Preparing a Greeley Assault Charge Defense
Assault can be a more serious charge than many recognize. There are many strategies that may be available to help with your defense, depending on the facts. Some include:
- Protecting yourself or someone else from imminent harm; this means that you have a right to self-defense
- Acting under duress
- Acting in the heat of the moment, which is known as the heat of passion defense
- Lack of intent to cause bodily injury
- A legitimate accident
- False accusation
- Mistaken identity
- Parental discipline
- An alibi
And there are more that may be other circumstances that could factor into your case. The Greeley assault defense attorneys are experienced in using a variety of different defense strategies and will handpick the right one for your case. Contact Martin & Reed, LLC, now to schedule your free case consultation.
What are the Consequences of an Assault Conviction in Greeley?
It’s critical to face assault charges with the strongest possible defense. A conviction for assault in Colorado comes with both immediate and long-term consequences. Penalties for a conviction vary based on the type of assault charge but could include:
- 6 months to 24 years in prison
- Serious fines of up to hundreds of thousands of dollars
- Court-ordered anger management classes
- A restraining order against you
Besides these temporary to long-term legally-imposed penalties for an assault conviction, many potential extralegal consequences also exist. Some life-changing results of a conviction include:
- A criminal record that’s available to the public
- Work and/or school sanctions against you
- Hiring-related background checks may make it difficult to gain employment
- Difficulty renting a home or apartment
- You may be prohibited from any child-related career or volunteer work
You deserve committed representation by an attorney who understands the penalties and challenges that come with a conviction. The Greeley assault lawyers at Martin & Reed are prepared to stand by your side and advocate tirelessly for your rights, including the right to the presumption of innocence.
What Does a Plea Bargain Mean in an Assault Case in Greeley?
Plea bargains are common in Colorado criminal court, including for assault cases. Sometimes emotions get the better of us and we do things we later regret. In some cases, a plea bargain is an option to consider. Plea bargains are offered by the prosecutor and both sides can reach an agreement at any point in the criminal legal process, including before or immediately after the state brings formal charges.
A plea bargain resolves the matter without a trial in a way that both sides find mutually agreeable. It typically requires the defendant to plead guilty to a lesser crime. This offers an advantage if the outcome of a trial is uncertain in your case.
Your Greeley assault defense lawyer can negotiate on your behalf if you choose a plea bargain. Any plea deal you agree to must go before the judge for approval. Judges often approve plea deals unless they are grossly unfair since it saves the time and expense of a trial.
Understanding Presumption of Innocence in Colorado Criminal Court
In the United States criminal courts, defendants have a right to the presumption of innocence. Though this doesn’t guarantee that an individual charged with assault will be released until their trial, it puts the burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt on the prosecutor for every element of the charge against the defendant. A skilled assault defense attorney understands how to defend against this type of charge based on the presumption of innocence. The prosecutor’s burden of proof for every element of the charge means showing beyond reasonable doubt that you committed both the act of the crime itself and your intent to commit the act.
Let Martin & Reed, LLC, Help You Defend Your Greeley Assault Charge
If you’re facing an assault charge in Greeley or the surrounding area, don’t wait. Your defense strategy should begin immediately. The Greeley assault defense attorneys at Martin & Reed, LLC, are ready to put their defense experience to work for you. Schedule your free consultation now by calling (970) 573-5187 or completing our contact form.