Greeley Weapons Offense AttorneyRequest Free Consultation
Weapons offenses in Greeley, Colorado, and the surrounding area are serious. They are even more serious if you’re charged with a felony or if you already have a felony on your record. Felonies can make it more difficult for you to find a job or adequate housing. There are also serious consequences related to weapons charges.
Yet, there are many misunderstandings surrounding weapons offenses. Aren’t we allo0wed to have certain firearms on our person in the State of Colorado? What are the limitations? If you’ve been charged with or if you’re under investigation for weapons offenses in Greeley or the surrounding area, schedule your free consultation with Martin & Reed, LLC, now by calling (970) 573-5187 or completing our contact form.
Is Concealed Carry Legal in Greeley?
In Colorado, one misconception is that because we have open carry, we have permitless concealed carry. The state of Colorado does not allow individuals to have permitless concealed carry for a firearm or knife unless they are:
- In your home
- In your own business
- On a property that you own
- Traveling in a vehicle registered to you
- A permit to carry the concealed weapon
Even if you have a permit, you may not carry the weapon in an area that is declared a weapon-free zone.
What about Open Carry in Greeley?
While Colorado does have open carry for qualified firearms without a license, permit, or registration in most cities for residents who are at least 18 years of age, there are certain individuals who are not allowed by State law to participate. This includes individuals who have been indicted or convicted of:
- A felony
- Attempt to commit a felony
- A domestic violence misdemeanor
Other reasons someone may not qualify for open carry include:
- An addiction to drugs or alcohol
- A protective order against them forbidding access to weapons
- Dishonorable discharge from the US military
- Renouncement of US citizenship
- Being a resident of another state that does not have reciprocity with Colorado’s open carry law
Of course, these aren’t the only weapons offenses in Greeley. However, getting picked up on a concealed or open carry charge is one of the most common for felons and those who have other charges or orders against them. Regardless, if you are being charged with a weapons offense, it is a serious matter. It’s important to develop a defense with an experienced Fort Collins weapons offense lawyer immediately. Contact a Greeley criminal defense attorney at Martin & Reed, LLC, as the first consultation is free.
What Does the Firearms Possession Law in Colorado Not Allow For?
The firearms possession law states that you cannot possess a firearm if you:
- Were previously convicted of a felony
- Are on probation or have other court restrictions on your gun rights
- Were previously adjudicated as a juvenile for an offense that would have been charged as a felony for adults
- Have other provisions decided by the court
If you have been caught with a weapon at a time when it wasn’t allowed and are now facing criminal charges, contact Martin & Reed, LLC, right away. A knowledgeable Greeley weapons offense attorney can review your case and begin developing a defense strategy for you.
Martin & Reed, LLC: Free Consultation for Greeley Weapons Offenses
Weapons offenses in Greeley and the surrounding area have serious penalties, such as fines up to $500,000, time in prison or jail, getting charged with a misdemeanor or felony, and you could also get charged with aggravating circumstances. Don’t leave your future to chance. Schedule your free consultation with the weapons offense defense attorneys of Martin & Reed, LLC, today.